Local Centers

Plan 2035 identifies 26 Local Centers and 5 Transit Districts. Each of these growth areas will offer similar activities to the Downtowns. As hubs, they will be centers for living, business, and recreation. However, they are of a smaller scale - and with a smaller range of activity - than the County's three Downtowns.

Each center is currently at a different stage for planning and development. We provide a list of centers with currently ongoing projects first, and then other centers for which planning work is still at an initial stage. Most of these centers have existing sector or long-range plans managed by other Sections.

Regional Transit Districts

  • Branch Avenue Metro 
  • College Park/UM Metro/ M Square Purple Line
  • Greenbelt Metro 
  • Largo Town Center Metro
  • National Harbor 
  • New Carrollton Metro
  • Prince George's Plaza Metro
  • Suitland Metro 

Local Transit Centers

  • Addison Road Metro
  • Capitol Heights Metro
  • Cheverly Metro
  • Landover Metro
  • Morgan Boulevard Metro
  • Naylor Road Metro
  • Takoma/Langley Crossroads

Neighborhood Centers

  • Annapolis Road/ Glenridge*
  • Beacon Heights*
  • Muirkirk MARC
  • Oxon Hill
  • Port Towns
  • Riverdale MARC
  • Riverdale Park*
  • Seabrook MARC
  • Southern Avenue Metro

Campus Centers

  • Bowie MARC
  • UMD Center*
  • UMD East*
  • UMD West*

Town Centers

  • Bowie
  • Brandywine
  • Konterra
  • Landover Gateway

*Future Purple Line centers