Mount Calvert Historical and Archaeological Park


A Notice to our Patrons:

The Mount Calvert Historic House and Museum is temporarily closed for restoration work but is available by appointment. The grounds and soft launch are open daily.

About Mount Calvert

Mount Calvert is one of the most significant historical and archaeological sites in Prince George’s County. Archaeologists have uncovered evidence of over 10,000 years of human history at the park, including large Indigenous villages, the first seat of colonial government for our county named “Charles Town”, and a large 18th and 19th century tobacco plantation where hundreds of enslaved workers toiled for generations. Artifacts from all these time periods are displayed in a museum inside the ca. 1790 brick manor house with a permanent exhibit called, “A Confluence of Three Cultures”.   

Archaeologists hold the seasonal field and lab programs at the park where guests can participate in excavations, assist with artifact processing, or go on a guided walk through history. We also offer paddling tours of nearby sites in the Jug Bay Archaeological Complex from our new soft launch along the Western Branch. Guests are welcome to explore the middle Patuxent River area using their own canoe, kayak, or SUP by driving to the small beach area to unload their boats and parking vehicles at the top of the hill. Swimming, fishing, and launching boat trailers are prohibited.

Research and Collections

Archaeologists with M-NCPPC have excavated at Mount Calvert since the late 1990s. They have discovered at wealth of information about the countless people who lived along the Patuxent River and the collections are housed at the nearby Archaeology Program Office. For further questions about research and collections, contact the Archaeology Program Office at 301-627-1286 or Maryland Relay 7-1-1 for customers who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability.